S.O.S. – Save Old Sinks

So the original cast iron sink was in pretty rough shape but the faucet was even worse.  After 30 minutes of what can only be called Plumbing Pilates my husband and I managed to remove the old faucet.  I had a moment of victory as I held the faucet with it’s tubes hanging down, a la the movie Predator.

13441

A dry fit of the new faucet was in order.  Sort of like adding something to a list just so you can check it off.  Yes, it will be pretty.

13567

I’m using a refinishing product to coat the sink and bring it back to its former glory.  I can’t recall the name of the product but I’ll be sure to mention it later.  So far the results are good.  Lots of elbow grease, but it will be worth saving the original cast iron sink.  Here is a shot that demonstrates the improvement the refinishing product made.  On the left side the sink is actually white!  13560

Leave a Reply

