What’s Old is Old Again

Have you ever been rummaging and had one of those moments where you see a hidden gem then try not to look too obvious as you glance around to make sure no one else is paying attention to the fact that you just totally scored? Well I went full on Gollum at my local Habitat for Humanity Restore last weekend. 

Here is why:

See it? See it? 

I had a sneaking suspicion that under that awful layer of new textured white spray paint I would find a pair of vintage barn lights with the old original green porcelain finish. You can see a spot on the lamp that’s had some of the white paint scratched off revealing the green porcilain beneath. 

Yes, it’s the precious. 

Two hours, a little paint stripper and some elbow grease and voila!

They are in nearly perfect condition and only cost $5.00 for the pair. I’ll have to rewire them since they have the old cloth covered wires, but they are well worth the effort. 

Now, where to install them…?

Leave a comment